Day 17: Close your eyes and take any book out of the shelf

Hach, I like this task…Ok, I picked „Zonenkinder“ by Jana Hensel.
This autobiographic novel has first been published in 2002 and was on the bestseller list for about one year. It is about a childhood and youth in the former GDR before the fall of the Berlin Wall. The author, Jana Hensel, grew up in the GDR and she was 13 years old when the Berlin Wall came down. I have always been interested in history and in the GDR. I myself grew up in Hamburg and I was 18 years old in 1989. So I am about the same generation as Jana Hensel – only from the other side of Germany. But I had several pen-friends in the former GDR in the years before the Wall came down. Therefore, I knew some things about living in the GDR, but in 2002 I wanted to know more. That was probably the reason why I read this book. Actually, I read it about 8 years ago. And yes, I should read it again to find out whether I am still interested in this subject and this kind of ‚young‘ German literature.
By the way, this book has also been translated into English: After the Wall. Confessions from an East German Childhood and the Life That Came Next. Public Affairs, New York 2004.

Über msgoingtomoon

I am: -> Mother of two kids (Mr Moon-Junior and Miss Venus) -> married to Mr Moon -> mainly a single mother, because Mr Moon is working in Munich at the moment -> a teacher -> working in home office or at school -> interested in music, sports, books and arts -> singing in a choir -> not always patient -> able to shout and to whisper -> ....? Just ask at http://www.formspring.me/msgoingtomoon
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter 31 days - 31 books veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

